Tomato Spinach Soup

Hi first saw Rachele Ray make this on TV.  I thought, I have those ingredients, and during the commercial break, I jumped up and made it.  So good.  I’m addicted to it!!  I even eat it cold for breakfast.

In a soup pot, put olive oil and minced garlic.  I like lots of garlic so I use about 3 heaping teaspoons.  For your first batch, use 1 Tbs minced garlic and adjust as you like over time.  Heat until the garlic starts to cook and release the oils.  Add 1 lg can of diced tomatoes, and 1 box of chicken soup broth.    Cook on medium heat for about 20 minutes.  The last 5 minutes, add 1 package of fresh spinach.

ALTERNATIVES
Sometimes I use beef soup broth, or vegetable soup broth.
If I use a brick of frozen spinach, I put it in once the broth and tomatoes come to a boil.
If you let it simmer longer, the tomatoes break down more and the soup is less chunky.  All good!!

This entry was posted in Low Carb, Recipes, Soups, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment